My Mother, My Friend

In 1998, Captain George Burk’s story of his experience as a plane crash and burn survivor, The Bridge Never Crossed---A Survivor’s Search for Meaning, earned an outburst of praise.  Now, seven years later, the retired Air Force Officer, speaker, writer and author, returns with his second memoir, this time delivering a poignant reminiscence of his big-city Irish/German upbringing filled with love and loss and fierce family and ethnic pride.
In the tradition of Dennis Smith’s A Song for Mary and Willie Morris’s North Toward Home, George portrays with humor and pride the trials and challenges he faced as a boy of Irish and German descent growing up in Sheraden, a blue collar town a few miles southwest of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. As George matures from nine years of age to eighteen, as he leaves home for college, he grows in respect and admiration for his hard-working, courageous, and determined mother, Willa. Readers also come to know George’s sometimes distant father, as well as his warm and vibrant family and the friends who shared his experiences.  As George journeys into manhood, we share his athletic endeavors, his triumphs and failures, and his enduring love for his mother.Tall for his age, a bit naïve, athletically gifted, easily embarrassed and struggling with uncertainties, George Burk was, in many ways, a young man destined for some type of success. Through it all, he could always count on his mother, who, at the cost of her own dreams, sometimes hilariously, always lovingly pulled him along into adulthood. His Irish/German roots were always a source of inspiration and determination. They whispered to him to be all that he could be and provided strength of faith, family and an innate grittiness that said never give up.  My Mother--- My Friend describes the attitudes that led him to excel in athletics and his career in life---how he learned to deal with bullies and how he refused to take crap from anyone---his urge to steal a longed for kiss---and his eventual departure for college. 
GOD’S MASTERPIECE IS MOTHER
God took the fragrance of a flower,
               The majesty of a tree,
               The gentleness of morning dew,
               The calm of a quiet sea,
               The beauty of the twilight hour,
               The soul of a starry night,
               The laughter of a rippling brook,
               The grace of a bird in flight,
   Then God fashioned from those things,
             A creation like no other,
             And when his masterpiece was through,
             He called it simply……..MOTHER

                                                                 George Burk
 


Value-Centered Leadership My Mother, My Friend-- The Story of Captain George Burk and his love for his mother
ISBN 1-888725-09-5 (perfect bound paper) Copyright © 2006 George Burk • 440 pages • paperback • $32.95 plus $4.00 shipping

check cart /check out


Also by George Burk



Value-Centered Leadership is a simple, profound, and fresh approach to effectively lead others to be self-motivated. This book will provide ways to establish core values while leading yourself and others.



Value-Centered LeadershipValue-Centered Leadership—A Survivor’s Strategy for Personal and Professional Growth.
Copyright © 2004 George Burk • 120 pages • paperback • $16.95 plus shipping
ISBN 1-888725-59-1(perfect bound paper)
One copy  $16.95 plus $4.00 shipping
 
 

check cart /check out



 

Inspiring Story of Captain George Burk, sole survivor of a military airplane crash, burn survivor
Copyright © 1998-2000 George Burk • 170 pages • paperback • $16.95 plus shipping
ISBN 1-888725-16-8 (perfect bound paper)
One copy  $16.95 plus $4.00 shipping
The Bridge Never Crossed

MacroPrintBooks Edition  $24.95 plus 4.00 shipping

check cart /check out

This book can also be ordered through barnesandnoble.com
Buy the bookThe Bridge Never Crossed- A Survivor's Search for Meaning by George Burk

for larger quantities, please call (636) 394-4950



Click for Order form to print, fill out and mail
 

partial list of books
E-mail about larger quantities and quantity discounts for educators and medical professionals.






more information about George Burk at www.georgeburk.comCaptain George Burk
P.O. Box 6392
Scottsdale AZ 85261-6392
1-800-769-8568
website:http://www.georgeburk.com
email:gburk@georgeburk.com

Captain George A. Burk USAF (Ret.)
Learn More about George Burk at www.georgeburk.com
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



Science & Humanities Press
P.O. Box 7151
Chesterfield, MO 63006-7151
(636) 394-4950

back to sciencehumanitiespress.com

Copyright © 1998-2006 Banis & Associates
send us E-mail
last modified, May 20, 2006